Nicaragua is the largest country in the Central American, bordered by Honduras to the north and Costa Rica to the south.  The Pacific Ocean lies to the west, and the Caribbean Sea to the east.  The country’s physical geography divides it into three major zones: Pacific lowlands, wet, cooler central highlands, and the Caribbean lowlands.  On the Pacific side of the country are the two largest fresh water lakes in Central America—Lake Managua and Lake Nicaragua.

The population of Nicaragua is approximately 6 million people and is a multiethnic country.  Roughly a quarter of the population lives in the capital city, Managua, making Managua the second largest city in Central America. 

The plan for Nicaragua is to stick to the Pacific side and ride along the shoreline of Central Americas two largest fresh water lakes – Lake Managua and Lake Nicaragua.  Nicaragua is known for its volcanoes and has a bunch of sea turtle hot spots along the Pacific Coast.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This